Pub. 7 2023 Issue 2

Annual Member Meeting Highlights

This story appears in the
UAFP Journal Pub. 7 2023 Issue 2

Feature Photo: Newly conferred AAFP Fellows, Dr. Tiffany Ho and Dr. Jordan Knox, with Dr. Stephen Furr.

Current Board President Dr. Michael Chen thanked our Immediate Past President, Dr. Saphu Pradhan, for her passion for family medicine and her leadership over the past year.
UAFP President-Elect Dr. Tiffany Ho presented Dr. Darlene Petersen with the UAFP Family Medicine Champion of the Year Award.
Dr. Saphu Pradhan presented Dr. Shannon Baker with the UAFP Family Medicine Physician of the Year Award.
AAFP President Dr. Stephen Furr swore in Dr. Michael Chen as President of the UAFP Board.

UAFP’s Annual Member Meeting was held this year at the Davis Conference Center in Layton. To help make it accessible to our statewide membership, we have begun rotating the location each year to different areas of the state. We hope this change makes it possible for more members to attend.

Each year, our annual meeting gives us the opportunity to showcase what we’ve done throughout the year, swear in our new president, confer new AAFP fellows, receive updates from AAFP leadership and give out our annual awards. It is an enjoyable and informative evening and a great way to spend time with fellow UAFP members.

The 2023 Utah Family Medicine Physician of the Year is Dr. Shannon Baker. One of her nominations reads, “Dr. Baker’s dedication to family medicine shines through her role as a visionary leader in population health, exemplifying her deep commitment to comprehensive and holistic care for her patient community.” There is no question that Dr. Baker is well-respected for her leadership as a family physician and is beloved by her patients and those who work with her on a daily basis.

The 2023 Utah Family Medicine Champion of the Year is Dr. Darlene Petersen. UAFP Maryann Martindale says of Dr. Peterson, “She helps me wade through some of the confusing legislation — she is my go-to for insight and experienced perspective. Darlene’s influence on our advocacy work is incalculable. We are incredibly lucky she is so knowledgeable about healthcare policy and dedicated to our advocacy work. It was an easy decision to give her this award.”

AAFP President Dr. Steven Furr joined us this year and touched on several issues family physicians are facing this year, including updates on telehealth controlled substance Rx flexibilities, the MATE Act, the CMS G2211 add-on code, the value of serving on AAFP Commissions, AAFP’s current federal advocacy efforts and AAFP’s strategic plan for the next three years, which includes finding ways to increase family medicine’s representation in communities and how DEI work is being intentionally integrated across all AAFP’s work.

Dr. Furr also conducted the swearing-in ceremony of UAFP’s new Board President for 2023-2024, Dr. Michael Chen, and conferred two new AAFP Fellows, Dr. Tiffany Ho and Dr. Jordan Knox.

We hope that you can join us next year in the fall of 2024 for this annual celebration of family medicine in Utah!